top of page

Filipino Members Chapter – Engineers Geoscientists Manitoba Holds Annual General Meeting for 2024

written by Jeffrey David P. Eng

     The Filipino Members Chapter – Engineers Geoscientists Manitoba

(FMC-EGM) held its annual general meeting (AGM) last February 3, 2024,

at the Philippine Canadian Centre of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB, with 50

members and guests attending. The agenda of the AGM includes the

chairperson’s report, financial report, results of the elections, and

professional development seminar.

     The AGM kicked off with welcome remarks from outgoing chairperson

Rey Robillos Jr., P.Eng. Following his welcome remarks, Rey presented the

various events held by FMC-EGM, highlighting the successes of the past

year, and crediting the continued support of members and volunteers alike.


     The financial report was presented by treasurer Danica Limpahan, EIT. In her report, Danica discussed the financial situation of the organization. In summary, the 2023 executive committee is transferring $6,741.53 to the 2024 executive committee.

     Guest speaker representing the Association, Joyzel Castro (EGM’s Member Services Coordinator), reiterated the programs and services provided by EGM, such as the mentorship program and the use of the mentorship centre. She also recognized the importance of FMC-EGM in helping internationally educated applicants during the registration process.


     This year’s professional development seminar was entitled, Introduction to Hydro-Electric dams, presented by Mike Toma, P.Eng., who currently works as a civil engineer at Manitoba Hydro. Mike is also an internationally educated engineer and is currently a board member of the Arab Members Chapter of EGM.

     The elections committee (comprising of Maurice Petallo, P.Eng., Ramon Buenaventura, EIT, M.Sc., and Jeffrey David, P.Eng.) presented the results of the 2024 elections. The new members of the executive committee who will serve a 2-year term are:

  1. Laurence Cabasug, EIT

  2. Roschelle Limpin, EIT

  3. Jeanette Perez, EIT

  4. Bernardo Pasco, EIT 

Following the AGM, the executive committee held their first meeting to elect the executive committee officers. The 2024 executive committee are:

  • Chairperson: Joan Santos, P.Eng.

  • Vice-chairperson: Richard Tarun, EIT

  • Secretary: Lea Esconde, EIT

  • Treasure: Jeanette Perez, EIT

  • Councillors: 

    • Jayson del Rosario, EIT

    • Laurence Cabasug, EIT

    • Roschelle Limpin, EIT

    • Bernardo Pasco, EIT


In closing, outgoing Vice-chairperson, Jennifer Javier-Adriano, EIT, reiterated the importance of continuing the mindset of service to the community.

Jeffrey David P.Eng

Jeffrey David_PEng_edited.jpg
bottom of page